1 in stock

Beck ‎– Odelay

Label: DGC – B0025491-01
Series: Vinyl Me, Please. Record Of The Month – Vol. 46
Vinyl, LP, Album, Club Edition, Reissue, Brown Translucent w/ Black Smoke [Bourbon]
Country: US
Genre: Rock, Pop
Style: Indie Rock, Alternative Rock


A1 Devils Haircut
A2 Hotwax
A3 Lord Only Knows
Percussion  Joey Waronker
Songwriter  Beck Hansen
Vocals [Scream]  Mike Millius
A4 The New Pollution
A5 Derelict
A6 Novacane
Drums  Joey Waronker
A7 Jack-Ass
B1 Where It's At
Saxophone  David Brown
Trumpet, Organ  Mike Boito
B2 Minus
Drums  Joey Waronker
Songwriter  Beck Hansen
B3 Sissyneck
Organ  Mike Boito
Pedal Steel Guitar  Gregory Leisz*
B4 Readymade
B5 High 5 (Rock The Catskills)
Organ  Mike Boito
Percussion  Joey Waronker
B6 Ramshackle
Bass  Charlie Haden
Percussion  Joey Waronker
Songwriter  Beck Hansen

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company  UMe
  • Distributed By  Universal Music Distribution
  • Manufactured By  Pallas USA
  • Exclusive Retailer  Vinyl Me, Please
  • Pressed By  Schallplattenfabrik Pallas GmbH – 40188
  • Copyright ©  Geffen Records
  • Recorded At  PCP Labs
  • Recorded At  The Shop
  • Recorded At  Sunset Sound
  • Recorded At  Conway Studios
  • Mixed At  Conway Studios
  • Published By  Youthless
  • Published By  Kobalt Music Publishing
  • Published By  Dust Brothers Music


  • Lacquer Cut By  BG*
  • Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals, Acoustic Guitar, Slide Guitar, Electric Guitar, Harmonica, Bass, Drums, Percussion, Keyboards [Analog], Electric Piano, Clavinet, Organ, Celesta  Beck Hansen
  • Mastered By  Richard Simpson
  • Mixed By  Beck Hansen (tracks: A1-B5), Brian Paulson (tracks: B2), Mario Caldato Jr. (tracks: B2), Rob Schnapf (tracks: B6), The Dust Brothers (tracks: A1-B1, B3-B5), Tom Rothrock (tracks: B6)
  • Producer  Beck Hansen (tracks: A1-B5), Rob Schnapf (tracks: B6), The Dust Brothers (tracks: A1-B1, B3-B5), Tom Rothrock (tracks: B6)


2016 exclusive Vinyl Me, Please edition. Small "Vinyl Me, Please EXCLUSIVE PRESSING" sticker on shrinkwrap. Six-panel color insert (mirroring most of content from CD editions' insert) and large "jackass" sticker enclosed.

Recorded in 1994/95 at PCP Labs mixed at Conway Studios, Recorded at G San Studios, The Shop, Sunset Sound and Conway Studios

All songs published by Youthless/Kobalt Music Publishing/Dust Brothers Music ASCAP except B6, A3 & B2 published by Youthless/Kobalt Music Publishing ASCAP

"Devil's Haircut" contains a sample from "Out Of Sight" (James Brown) published by Fort Knox Music BMI, performed by Them, courtesy of the Decca Record Co.; a sample from "Soul Drums" (Bernard Purdie) published by Tenryk Music BMI, performed by Pretty Purdie, courtesy of Sony Music; and elements from "I Can Only Give You Everything" (Philip Coulter/Thomas Scott) published by Carbert Music ASCAP.

"Hotwax" contains a sample from "Song For Aretha" (Bernard Purdie/Horace Ott/Robert Thiele) published by Tenryk Music/Well Made Music BMI, performed by Pretty Purdie; and a sample from "Up On The Hill" (Monk Higgins/Alexandra Brown) published by Special Agent Co./Tippy Music Publishing ASCAP, performed by Monk Higgins & The Specialties, courtesy of Blue Note Records, a division of Capitol Records, Inc.

"Lord Only Knows" contains elements from "Lookout For Lucy" (Mike Millius/Don Thomas) published by Southern Music Publishing Company, Inc. ASCAP performed by Mike Millius, courtesy of MCA Records, Inc.

"The New Pollution" contains a sample from "Venus" (Brad Baker) published by Sonny Lester Music Publishing Co. ASCAP, performed by Joe Thomas, courtesy of LAC Ltd.

"Jack-ass" contains a sample from "It's All Over Now, Baby Blue" (Bob Dylan) published by Special Rider Music SESAC, performed by Them, courtesy of Decca Record Co. Licensed from Exile Productions Limited.

"Where It's At" contains a sample from "Needle To The Groove" (Embden Toure/Khaleel Kirk) published by Hit And Hold Music, Inc. ASCAP, performed by Mantronix, courtesy of Warlock Records.

"Sissyneck" contains elements from "The Moog And Me" (Dick Hyman) published by Eastlake Music, Inc. ASCAP, performed by Dick Hyman, courtesy of MCA Records, Inc. and elements from "A Part Of Me" (Paris/Taylor) published by Zethus Music, administered by Chappell & Co., Inc. ASCAP. All Rights Reserved. Used by permission.

"Readymade" contains excerpts from "Desafinado" (Antonio Carlos Jobim/Newton Mendonca) published by Bendig Music/Carcovado Corp. BMI, performed by Laurindo Almeida And The Bossa Nova All Stars, courtesy of Blue Note Records, a division of Capitol Records, Inc.

"High 5 (Rock The Catskills)" contains elements from "Mr. Cool" (Vincent Willis) published by Cotillion Music Inc./NAP Publishing Co./ Sylheart Publishing Co., administered by Warner Tamerlane Publishing Co., Inc. BMI performed by Rasputin's Stash, courtesy of Atlantic Recording Corp., by arrangement with Warner Special Products, Inc.