1 in stock

Herbie Hancock ‎– Sextant

Label: Columbia – KC 32212
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Santa Maria Pressing
Country: US
Genre: Electronic, Jazz, Funk / Soul
Style: Fusion, Jazz-Funk, Experimental


A1 Rain Dance 9:16
A2 Hidden Shadows 10:13
B Hornets 19:36

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By  Columbia Records
  • Manufactured By  CBS Inc.
  • Phonographic Copyright ℗  CBS Inc.
  • Copyright ©  CBS Inc.
  • Copyright ©  Hancock Music Company
  • Recorded At  Wally Heider Studios
  • Recorded At  Different Fur Studios
  • Mastered At  Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Santa Maria
  • Pressed By  Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Santa Maria
  • Published By  Hancock Music Company


  • Bass Trombone, Tenor Trombone, Trombone [Alto Trombone], Cowbell  Pepo (2)
  • Congas, Bongos  Buck Clarke
  • Drums  Jabali
  • Effects [Random Resonator]  Fundi (2)
  • Electric Bass [Fender Electric Bass With Wah-wah And Fuzz], Acoustic Bass  Mchezaji
  • Electric Piano [Fender Rhodes], Clavinet [Hohner D-6 With Fender Fuzz-Wah And Echoplex], Percussion [Dakha-Di-Bello], Mellotron, Piano [Steinway], Handclaps  Mwandishi
  • Engineer [Re-mix]  David Rubinson
  • Mixed By [Synthesizer, Mellotron]  John Vieira
  • Painting [Cover]  Robert Springett
  • Producer  David Rubinson And Friends Inc.*
  • Recorded By  Fred Catero, Jerry Zatkin*, John Vieira
  • Soprano Saxophone, Bass Clarinet, Piccolo Flute, Afoxé [Afuche], Kazoo [Hum-a-zoo]  Mwile
  • Synthesizer [Arp 2600]  Dr. Patrick Gleeson*
  • Trumpet, Flugelhorn  Mganga
  • Written-By  Herbie Hancock


Ⓟ 1973 CBS, Inc / Ⓒ 1973 CBS, Inc
Recorded at Wally Heiders, San Francisco and Different Fur Trading Co., San Francisco.

Promos of this version are stock red label copies with timing strip enclosed from Columbia records radio station service and a sticker on the back cover that reads "Promotional record for broadcast and review not for sale".