1 in stock

James Taylor – Mud Slide Slim And The Blue Horizon

Label: Warner Bros. Records – BS 2561
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Pitman Pressing, Gatefold
Country: US
Genre: Rock
Style: Country Rock, Soft Rock


A1 Love Has Brought Me Around
Cowbell, Cymbal  Russ Kunkel
Tambourine  Peter Asher
A2 You've Got A Friend
Cabasa  Russ Kunkel
Written-By  Carole King
A3 Places In My Past
Accordion  Kevin Kelly (2)
Guitar  Danny Kootch*
A4 Riding On A Railroad
Banjo  John Hartford
Fiddle  Richard Greene
A5 Soldiers 1:13
A6 Mud Slide Slim 5:20
B1 Hey Mister, That's Me Up On The Jukebox 3:46
B2 You Can Close Your Eyes 2:31
B3 Machine Gun Kelly
Tambourine  Russ Kunkel
Written-By  Danny Kortchmar
B4 Long Ago And Far Away 2:20
B5 Let Me Ride
Piano  Kevin Kelly (2)
B6 Highway Song 3:51
B7 Isn't It Nice To Be Home Again 0:55

Companies, etc.

  • Produced For  Marylebone Productions
  • Pressed By  Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman
  • Published By  Country Road Music, Inc.
  • Published By  Blackwood Music Inc.
  • Published By  Screen Gems-Columbia Music, Inc.
  • Published By  Portofino Music
  • Published By  Sho 'Nuff Music
  • Published By  Walden Music
  • Recorded At  Crystal Sound
  • Mixed At  Crystal Sound
  • Mastered At  Artisan Sound Recorders


  • Acoustic Guitar  Danny Kootch* (tracks: A2, B3), James Taylor (2) (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to B5, B7)
  • Art Direction  Ed Thrasher
  • Artwork [Liner]  Laurie Miller (4)
  • Backing Vocals  James Taylor (2) (tracks: A1, A2, B3 to B5, B6), Joni Mitchell (tracks: A1, A2, B4), Kate Taylor (tracks: B5, B6), Peter Asher (tracks: B3, B6)
  • Bass  Leland Sklar (tracks: A1, A2 to B1, B4 to B6)
  • Congas  Danny Kootch* (tracks: A1, A2, B3 to B5), Russ Kunkel (tracks: A1, A2, A6, B5)
  • Drums  Russ Kunkel (tracks: A1 to B1, B3 to B6)
  • Electric Guitar  Danny Kootch* (tracks: A1, A6, B5)
  • Engineer  Richard Sanford Orshoff
  • Horns, Arranged By [Horns]  Andrew Love (tracks: A1, B5), Memphis Horns* (tracks: A1, B5), Wayne Jackson (tracks: A1, B5)
  • Photography By [Cover]  Ethan Russell
  • Piano  Carole King (tracks: A1, A4 to B1, B4, B6), James Taylor (2) (tracks: A3, B6)
  • Producer  Peter Asher
  • Written-By  James Taylor (2) (tracks: A1, A3 to A6, B1, B2, B4 to B7)


Recorded and mixed January 3 through February 28, 1971, at Crystal Recording Studios, Hollywood

Carole King appears courtesy of Ode Records (2)
Danny Kortchmar and Abigale Haness appear courtesy of Atlantic Records
Joni Mitchell appears courtesy of Reprise Records
Richard Greene appears courtesy of Capitol Records
Kate Taylor appears courtesy of Cotillion Records

Runouts are etched except '[Artisan logo], A P, 7 P, C 11, B 13' stamped.