1 in stock

Roy Ayers ‎– Africa, Center Of The World

Label: Polydor – PD-1-6327, Polydor – 2391 527
Vinyl, LP, Album, Stereo, Hauppauge Pressing
Country: US
Genre: Jazz, Funk / Soul
Style: Jazz-Funk, Afrobeat


A1 Africa, Center Of The World
Written-By  Fela Anikulapo-Kuti*
A2 Intro/The River Niger
Written-By  Roy Ayers
A3 I'll Just Keep Trying
Written-By  James Bedford, Roy Ayers
A4 Destination Motherland
Written-By  Luther Wilson, Roy Ayers, Tanya Woods
B1 The Third Eye
Written-By  Roy Ayers
B2 Intro/Land Of Fruit And Honey
Written-By  Roy Ayers
B3 Intro/Mo Nise Si E (I Love You)
Written-By  Luther Wilson, Tanya Woods
B4 There's A Master Plan
Written-By  James Bedford, Roy Ayers, William Allen

Companies, etc.

  • Manufactured By  Polydor Incorporated
  • Manufactured By  PolyGram Records, Inc.
  • Marketed By  PolyGram Records, Inc.
  • Phonographic Copyright ℗  PolyGram Records, Inc.
  • Copyright ©  PolyGram Records, Inc.
  • Published By  Roy Ayers Ubiquity
  • Published By  Skillet Music
  • Published By  Brainfood Music
  • Produced For  Ro-Ayer Production Company
  • Produced For  Yellow Go-Rilla Prod. Ltd.
  • Recorded At  Sigma Sound Studios, New York
  • Recorded At  Artisan Sound Recorders
  • Mixed At  Minot Sound
  • Mastered At  Frankford/Wayne Mastering Labs
  • Lacquer Cut At  Frankford/Wayne Mastering Labs
  • Pressed By  Hauppauge Record Manufacturing Ltd.


  • Arranged By [Special Background Vocals Arrangement]  Edwin Birdsong (tracks: A1)
  • Arranged By [Strings], Producer [Assistant Remix], Marimba [Bass Mirimba], Handclaps, Bells, Shekere  William Allen
  • Backing Vocals [Background]  Debbie Cole*, Ethel Beatty
  • Bass  Peter Brown (5)
  • Booking [Tour]  Associated Booking Corporation*
  • Design  Bob Heimall*
  • Drums  Omar Hakim, Quintin Dennard*, Steve Cobb
  • Electric Piano  Harold Land Jr.*, Lesete Wilson*
  • Engineer  Carla Bandini, Rick Smith (2)
  • Engineer [Additional Remix Assistance & Support], Concept By [Album]  Dennis Armstead
  • Engineer [Remix]  Ray Bardani
  • Glass Harmonica [Cups]  Dennis "Gorilla" Armstead*
  • Guitar  Jeffery Quiton
  • Guitar, Handclaps  Chuck Anthony
  • Handclaps  Roy Ayers III
  • Illustration  Wendy Grossman (2)
  • Lacquer Cut By  Herbie*
  • Lead Vocals  Carla Vaughn, Marva Hicks, Teri Wells*
  • Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals [Background]  Sylvia Striplin
  • Lead Vocals, Backing Vocals [Background], Handclaps, Clavinet, Synthesizer [Arp], Cowbell  Jaymz Bedford*
  • Mastered By  Herb Powers*
  • Narrator [Vocal Narration]  Erlean Perry (tracks: A1)
  • Percussion  Dom Um Romao
  • Photography By [Inside Photo]  Lou Carnevale
  • Producer [Remix]  Ted Daryll
  • Producer, Arranged By  James Bedford, Roy Ayers, William Allen
  • Recorded By [Additional Recording]  Ron Carran
  • Vibraphone, Lead Vocals, Handclaps, Electric Piano, Clavinet, Marimba [Bass Mirimba], Marimba [Mirimba], Congas, Synthesizer [Quaddra], Performer [Plays Deagan Vibraharp]  Roy Ayers
  • Vocals  Ray Cookie Keith
  • Vocals, Drum [Quica]  Weldon Arthur McDougal III
  • Voice Actor [Father]  William Allen (tracks: A2)
  • Voice Actor [Little Boy]  Miles Bailer Armstead (tracks: A2)
  • Voice [Speaking]  Jojo Lole Dawodu, Omo Yeni Anikulapo-Kuti


Album concept [...] for Yellow Go-Rilla Productions Ltd.
Printed in U.S.A.

This version is the Hauppauge pressing plant variation and can be identified by the label typesetting and by the triangle symbol stamped in the runout grooves.