1 in stock

The Daktaris ‎– Soul Explosion

Label: Daptone Records – DAP-049, Desco Records – DSLP003
Vinyl, LP, Album, Reissue, Remastered
Country: US
Genre: Funk / Soul
Style: Afrobeat, Soul, Funk


A1 Musicawa Silt
Written-By  Wallias Band
A2 Quiet Man Is Dead Man
Written-By  A. B. Oluremi*, C. Apaokagi*, O. Owudemi*
A3 Modern Technology
Written-By  F. Doolittle*
A4 Super Afrobeat
Written-By  A. B. Oluremi*
A5 In The Middle
Written By  James Brown
A6 Give It Up Turn It Loose
Written By  James Brown
B1 Eltsuhg Ibal Lasiti
Written-By  A. B. Oluremi*, C. Apaokagi*
B2 Daktari Walk
Written-By  A. B. Oluremi*
B3 Voodoo Soul Stew
Written-By  O. Owudemi*
B4 Upside Down
Written-By  Fela Kuti

Companies, etc.

  • Recorded At  Dare Studios


  • Alto Saxophone  Joe Hrbeck*
  • Baritone Saxophone  Femi "Dokita" Doolittle
  • Bass  Clement Apaokagi
  • Clarinet, Melodica, Bells  Gbenro "Mr Icee" Fakeye
  • Congas, Vocals  Jo Jo Quo*
  • Coordinator [Production]  Valerie "Rocco Jr." Compagnone*
  • Drums  Olu "Rocksteady" Owudemi
  • Engineer [Assistant]  Babatunde Adebimpe, Mike Wagner, Philip Lehmen*
  • Flute  Martin Ogbede
  • Guitar [Tenor]  G. G. Vikey
  • Keyboards  Azouhouni Adou
  • Lead Guitar  Alaji Boniface Luremi*
  • Liner Notes  Peter Franklin (6)
  • Mixed By  Gabriel Roth
  • Percussion [Shaker]  Idowu Perkins
  • Percussion [Sticks]  Abou Sylla
  • Producer  Gabriel Roth, Mike Wagner, Phillip Lehman*
  • Tenor Saxophone  Adrian Bako
  • Trombone  Neal Pawley
  • Trumpet  Alaji Milificent Agbede


Originally released on Desco Records (DSLP-003).

One additional song, "In The Middle," added to this release. Musicawi Silt Parts 1 & 2 combined into one track, "Musicawi Silt."

Includes download card