1 in stock

The Jimi Hendrix Experience ‎– Are You Experienced

Label: Reprise Records – RS 6261, Reprise Records – RS-6261, Reprise Records – 6261
Vinyl, LP, Album, Repress, Stereo, Pitman Pressing
Country: US
Genre: Rock
Style: Psychedelic Rock


A1 Purple Haze 2:46
A2 Manic Depression 3:30
A3 Hey Joe
Written-By  Billy Roberts
A4 Love Or Confusion 3:15
A5 May This Be Love 2:55
A6 I Don't Live Today 3:55
B1 The Wind Cries Mary 3:21
B2 Fire 2:34
B3 Third Stone From The Sun 6:40
B4 Foxey Lady 3:15
B5 Are You Experienced? 3:55

Companies, etc.

  • Record Company  Warner Bros. - Seven Arts Records, Inc.
  • Record Company  Warner Bros. Records Inc.
  • Record Company  Warner Bros. Pictures, Inc.
  • Mastered At  Customatrix
  • Pressed By  Columbia Records Pressing Plant, Pitman


  • Art Direction  Ed Thrasher
  • Drums  Mitch Mitchell
  • Guitar [Uncredited], Piano [Uncredited], Vocals [Uncredited]  Jimi Hendrix
  • Guitar, Bass [Uncredited], Backing Vocals [Uncredited]  Noel Redding
  • Photography By  Karl Ferris
  • Producer [Uncredited]  Chas Chandler
  • Written-By  Jimi Hendrix (tracks: A1, A2, A4 to B5)


Second issue with two-tone orange-top Reprise labels with the Warner Seven Arts W7/Reprise circle logo & address.
Sleeve has Square Reprise identity. No question mark to title, unlike label.
Originally released in August 1967 (Tri-color labels on US).

RS 6261 on labels, RS-6261 on spine & back cover, 6261 on front cover.

All Matrix/runouts are etched, except P, D and o in runouts are stamped.

Text from the record jacket:
"Be forewarned. Used to be an Experience meant making you a bit older. This one makes you wider. With the assistance of Mitch Mitchell (on drums) and Noel Redding (on guitar), Jimi Hendrix breaks the world into interesting fragments. Then reassembles it. You hear with new ears, after being Experienced. Those who've only seen him perform only know part of This Experience. They rave about a young man who plays a guitar in more positions than anybody before him. Now, this debut album will put the heads of Hendrix' listeners into some novel positions. Be forewarned."